Time for a Loose cuppa? **update from the saint**

November 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

The king has been keeping us abreast of his adventures of loose tea lately and I was feeling a little left out. I texted the king and asked how to get started and I received some very simple instructions.

Drive to Bulk Barn, get a tea ball (I already had one, but it felt like the patriotic thing to do), get Earl Grey, Moroccan mint, and Rose hip hibiscus, and that should be a good start to the tea drinking and blending experience. I ended up 20131108-112810.jpggetting eight different kinds of tea, Earl Grey, Orange Pekoe, Assam, Moroccan Mint, Fair Trade Chinese Green, Rose hip Hibiscus, Darjeeling, and Black Chai. If you haven’t figured it out yet I’m a bit of a foodie, but unfortunately a fairly poor one. So when I hear about something like this which lets me blend and explore flavours for a little amount of money I pounce like a jaguar. Ah ha! A series is a brewing! Keep on the look out for The Budget Foodie of which I think this may be the first instalment. Or maybe not, this is the cuppa series and a spin off of this will be the budget foodie. Anyways back to the story…

My total shopping bill came to thirty three dollars, but that’s only because I got raisins, coconut, beans, steel cut oats, and a few other things. The total cost of eight different teas and a tea ball came to around nine dollars. I got a couple of scoops of the base teas that I’ll primarily be blending from and a good solid scoop of the accessory teas. I’m not really sure which will be which but only time can tell.

So my first attempt at blending was a stupendous failure, or at least as stupendous a failure that making a cup of tea can be. A couple of things to keep in mind while making you cup of tea. Fill the sphere half way full, that should be enough for a cup. Get your water nice and hot, I let mine boil, remove it from the heat and then when it stops bubbling I pour it over the ball in the cup. I let it steep for fourish minutes. I pull the ball out and let it cool a bit and then drink.

Now, only because I am a novice home brewer do I know that I probably, in my description of how to make tea, broke at least eight rules of making tea even though I only described five steps to making it. Well, bugger all that for now because this cup of pure Darjeeling is mighty damn fine!

That’s it, that’s all, when I find a nice blend I’ll post it and when I find a nasty blend I’ll post that as well. If you decide to join us on our tea drink and blending exploration drop us a comment and we’ll get this party started like it’s Saturday night!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time for a Loose cuppa? **update from the saint** at Reflections of a King and Saint.

meta

